Library Foundation Announces Annual Dinner, Awards, New Officers & Members


The Lafayette Public Library Foundation will hold its annual members’ meeting on the evening of June 10. The event will be a dress-up cocktail party with the theme Alyce in Bayouland, and the emcée will be Dalfred Jones of KLFY.  The featured speaker will be Jillian Dickerson of the Lafayette Better Business Bureau, who will discuss the critical role that libraries play in the social, cultural, and economic life of our community.  

At the event, the Foundation will present its annual awards.  The Major Donor Award will be given to Alverta Hasling and Flossie Turner on behalf of the Friends of the Lafayette Public Library.  This year the Friends reached a milestone of over $1,000,000 in donations to our Libraries, generated through their semi-annual book sales.  

The Foundation Award will be presented to Carol Trosclair.  Carol has served on the Foundation Board for the past 6 years, serving a term as Vice President, and aggressively enlarged the Foundation’s endowment.  She is a petroleum landman, and active in professional and community organizations serving on the Keep Lafayette Beautiful Board, the Lafayette Association of Professional Landmen and a member of Women of Wisdom and the Lafayette Women’s Chamber of Commerce, as well as a number of other civic organizations.  She has also raised tens of thousands of dollars for the UL Foundation in support of the David Trosclair Memorial Scholarship in Kinesiology.

The President’s Award goes to Joan Wingate.  Joan has been a tireless supporter of the Parish Libraries for decades, serving on the Foundation in various positions, leading ‘Lafayette Loves Libraries,’ as president, and serving as the senior member of the Library Board of Control.

Incoming Foundation Officers and Board Members will also be introduced at at the meeting.  The Executive Committee for 2022-2023 includes President Joseph N Abraham MD; Vice President John Valdetero; Treasurer Andrew Duhon; Recording Secretary Claire Thibodaux, MLIS; Corresponding Secretary Tammy Domingue; and immediate Past President Joan Savoy.  

Newly elected members include UL Education Associate Professor, Christine Briggs; KLFY Sales Manager, Angélique Brown; Attorney & Former Educator, Peggy Giglio; Owner of Sivarco Group Consulting, Ravis Martinez; Writer & Graphic Artist, Lynette Mejía; Retired US Army Veteran, Nureaka Ross; and Louisiana Director/Publisher of Decided Excellence Catholic Media, John Wilson.  They join returning Board Members Dr. Aeve Abington-Pitre; Kisharra Angelety; Melanie Brevis; Kermit Duhon; Robert Jarred; Dr. Christie Maloyed; and ex-officio member, Lafayette Public Libraries Director Danny Gillane.

The annual dinner will take place at the Palmetto Club, 301 Heymann Blvd in the Oil Center. Tickets are $35, which includes hors d’oeuvres and light dining donated by local restaurants; door prizes, raffles, and basket auctions; and a cash bar.  Attendees are invited to dress in costume inspired by Alice In WonderlandDoors will open at 5:00 and the event will take place from 5:30 to 7:00.

Abraham will close the event with a short address discussing the essential role that books and libraries play in preparing our children for the rapidly accelerating ennovation Economy.

Tickets are available through EventBrite or by typing http://lplfoundation/alyce into your Internet browser (MS Explorer, Chrome, Safari, Firefox, etc.) For further information call 337.284.0900, or email

Post navigation