Looking to the FUTURE was the Theme for the 2019 Awards Luncheon

The Lafayette Public Library Foundation held its 23rd Annual Awards Luncheon honoring individuals and groups that have made lasting contributions and provided support to the Lafayette Public Library. The luncheon took place on Friday, April 12, 2019 at the City Club at River Ranch. The event began with a silent auction at 10:30am followed by the program and awards ceremony at 11:30am. The 2019 honorees were Jean T. Kreamer, PhD. receiving the Foundation Award; the Lafayette Parish Sheriff’s Office, recipient of the Major Donor Award; and the Surrey Street Community Health Center receiving the President’s Award. The LPLF also established an honorary endowment for each of award winners in their honor.

Library Director Teresa Elberson accepts check on behalf of the LPLF for the purchase of books

In addition to the awards presentation, the LPLF presented the library with a check for $8,950 for the purchase of 358 books at $25 each. Several local authors were also invited to showcase, sell and sign their books.The event is held each year and is open to the public. Next year’s event will be held on Friday, April 17, 2020 with doors opening at 10:30am.  A limited number of tickets will be available to the general public. Tickets can be be purchased at a cost of $35.00 to cover lunch and venue costs by calling 337-261-5781.

Purpose of Annual Awards Luncheon

  • Recognizes community leaders who make significant contributions to our Foundation and libraries.
  • Introduces new board members and officers
  • Transitions executive positions
  • Creates awareness in the community about the works of the foundation